my big list of college ministry blogs (so far)

I wanted to leave an extra day to gather any ideas for doing eclectic college ministry in light of yesterday’s post. If you’ve got any ideas – even wild and crazy stuff – I’d love to hear ’em. And I should chime in tomorrow on how we might reflect the Millennial characteristic of eclecticism!

Meanwhile… Earlier this week, Dan Turis of the CCO asked for the list of college ministry theory blogs I read. So, since I’m a big fan of college ministry blogging, I figured I’d put the list on here.

Some important points:

  • I’m only including blogs that have updated this semester.
  • These blogs have a wide range of usefulness; sorry I can’t annotate too much at this point.
  • I will, however, asterisk the ones I have found MOST useful or am especially intrigued by right now.
  • Don’t be overwhelmed by the size of the list – many of these are only rarely updated, and you’ll be able to tell pretty quickly what you want to keep up with.

I recognize that many college ministry blogs are written for their students and other constituents, with discussions of Scripture and updates. But we also need blogs that take a wider angle, describing either college ministry theory or methods. So if you know of more blogs of that kind, please let me know!

And to see some of the best online discussions in recent weeks, check out the weekly reviews!

[Even if some entries are cut short below, you can still click the links.]

Aaron Stern aaronstern.typepad.com/aaron_sterns_blog/
Abbie Smith www.conversantlife.com/blogs/abbie+smith/%2A
Academic Faithfulness* academicfaithfulness.blogspot.com/
Adam Reynolds: Thoughts From Jesusland azreynolds.com
Alice Connor: simul justus et peccator justusetpeccator.blogspot.com/
Ashlee Alley: A Long Obedience… ashleealley.blogspot.com/
Ben Coleman gbencoleman.wordpress.com
Betsy Prosise: Affirmed Passion affirmedpassion.blogspot.com/
Bill Victor: BillyVs Quickhits billyvsquickhits.blogspot.com/
Bill Westfall: Campus-Cultural Mission* williamwestfall.wordpress.com
Bob Fuhs bobfuhs.typepad.com/bob-fuhs/
Bob Hetzler: Bob’s Blog www.cenational.org/cenational/bobsblog/index.asp
Brandon Reed brandonreed.wordpress.com
Brandon Smith: MyNameIsBrandon.com* mynameisbrandon.wordpress.com
Brian Barela: The Necessary Things* brianbarela.typepad.com/the_necessary_things/
Brian Beckstrom: Missio Dei – Following Jesus into the world brian-beckstrom.blogspot.com/
Byron Borger: Hearts & Minds Books* heartsandmindsbooks.com
Campus Crosswalk Web Journal* campuscrosswalk.org/
Campus Renewal Ministries www.campusrenewal.org/blog
Carson Conover: Sophisticated, Stimulating, and…Stuff carsonconover.wordpress.com
Chad Logan: Just Think chadsthought.blogspot.com/
Chris Bean* chrisbean.info
Chuck Bomar: College Ministry Thoughts www.collegeministrythoughts.com
City Campus Ministry www.citycampusministry.com/blog
College Union* collegeunion.org
CPYU BOOKSHELF* cpyubookshelf.blogspot.com/
CruBlogging crublogging.com
Curt Harlow curtharlow.com/wordpress
Dan Wilkinson: The University Frontier theuniversityfrontier.wordpress.com
Daniel Curran danielcurran.blogspot.com/
Emerging Scholars Blog* blog.emergingscholars.org
Glen and Paula Davis glenandpaula.com/
Graham Helms: Update sweepusaway.com
Guy Chmieleski: faith on campus* campusministryguy.blogspot.com/
Heart of Campus Ministry (ACM)* naccm.wordpress.com
Heather Lodovico: if we ever leave a legacy… heatherlods.blogspot.com/
Inter-School Christian Fellowship iscf09.blogspot.com/
Jason Yarnell: College Ministry OJT* collegeministryojt.blogspot.com/
Joe Blanchard: CCF at NC State ccf-ncsu.org/home
Jonathan Weyer: The Thomas Society* thomas2026.wordpress.com
Keith Davy: CoJourner* cojourner.blogspot.com/
Ken Cochrum: On Leading Well www.onleadingwell.com
Matt McComas: Leadership, Technology, Innovation* www.mattmccomas.com
Michael Mears: More than listening michaelmears.com
Mike Filicicchia: This is Church* www.thisischurch.net
Mike Reading: a missional dramedy* amissionaldramedy.tumblr.com/
NEWCHAPTER* newchapterblog.wordpress.com
Nick Melazzo: symbiosis* nickmelazzo.wordpress.com
Reformed University Fellowship Articles www.ruf.org
Reformed University Fellowship Blog www.ruf.org/ruf-blog/
Reformed University Fellowship Sermons www.ruf.org
Russ Martin: DoubleDerivative.ca* www.doublederivative.ca
Ryan McReynolds: The McReynolds Story mcreynoldsccc.blogspot.com/
Sammy Rhodes: Sammy’s posterous sammyrhodes.posterous.com
Steve Lutz: the SENTinel* stevelutz.wordpress.com
Steve Rankin: Rankin File* steverankin.wordpress.com
Threads threadsmedia.com/
Tim Elmore’s Leadership Blog* elmoreleadershipblog.blogspot.com/
Tim Hudson: Shadowlander shadowlander.wordpress.com
Todd Engstrom: Ethereal Thought Train toddengstrom.com
Wes Woodell: West Coast Witness* westcoastwitness.com

11 Comments

  1. Pingback: Reaching the Campus Tribes at The Emerging Scholars Blog

  2. Excellent list Benson–I’ve found many a helpful college ministry thought on, and thru, your blog.

    Written from Mt. Nittany Medical Center. My new baby daughter Abigail is just a few feet away… :-)

  3. Pingback: Online Conversations About Campus Ministry

Leave a Reply